Annual Work Calendar

July 2016

revised 7/12/2016

Deadlines

Fri, Jul 1 List of faculty intending to apply for T/P, with names of external reviewers, from dean to provost
Annual Stewardship report for Program Specific Fees to dean
Fri, Jul 15 Annual Stewardship report for Program Specific Fees to provost
Fri, Jul 22
Short-Term proposals for March, May, June, July, August 2017 to Study Away - priority deadline
Fri, Jul 29
SU15 Commencement
Check budget summary from Dawn

Ongoing

    Review of budget carry forward plans
AY16-17 start up planning
Clean up department email distribution lists

August 2016

revised 7/12/2016

Deadlines

Mon, Aug 1
Curriculum Innovation grant call for proposals; email FCTL for pre-grant meeting
Mon, Aug 22
FA16 semester begins
Fri, Aug. 26
Final date to send materials to T/P external reviewers
Wed, Aug 31
Check budget summary from Dawn

Ongoing

 
Continue review of budget carry forward plans
COAL Out-of-State Fee waivers to dean
Confirm and schedule external consultants for fall program review visits
Confirm faculty/staff searches
Heads meet with dean to discuss priorities for the year

September 2016

revised 7/14/2016

Deadlines

Thurs, Sept 1
 
SP17 schedule goes online
Course funding projections for SP17 to dean
Fri, Sept 2
SP17 Intersession course proposals from faculty to heads
Wed, Sept 7
Public Affairs 2018-19 begin call for themes to Public Affairs
Fri, Sept 9 University Gift Reporting and Membership Reporting to dean
Carry Forward requests to dean
SP17 Intersession course proposals to dean
Fri, Sept 16 University Gift Reporting and Membership Reporting from dean to provost
FA16 Faculty Research Grant applications to dean
Thurs, Sept 15
Citizens Scholar Award nominations to Student Affairs
Mon, Sept 19
Census Date — PAFs for online classes prepared and sent to dean
Major Equipment requests to dean
GA Assignment audit to dean
Mon, Sept 26
 
T/P dossiers to heads
External review letters to heads
Tues, Sept 27
T/P dossiers (with external review letters) to committee
Fri, Sept 30
Study Away Short-Term proposals for Spring Break, SU16, and SU16 Intersession to Study Away
FA16 Faculty Research Grant applications from dean to provost
Check budget summary from Dawn

Ongoing

   

 

October 2016

revised 7/14/2016

Deadlines

Mon, Oct 3
 
Projected enrollment targets to dean
Early personnel committee review for second year faculty (if problems) to provost
Fri, Oct 7
Projected enrollment targets from dean to provost
Fri, Oct 14
 
CASL Faculty Fellowship applications to CASL
CASL Research Stipend applications to CASL
Staff Excellence in Community Service Award applications to Public Affairs
Public Affairs 2018-19 theme suggestions to Public Affairs
Mon, Oct 17
Study Away Exploratory Travel Fund applications to Study Away
T/P dossiers and recommendations from personnel committees to heads
T/P letters from personnel committees to faculty members
Fri, Oct 21 Major Equipment requests from dean to provost
Excellence in Study Away Programming Award nominations to Study Away
Public Affairs Grant applications to Public Affairs
Course funding projections for SP17 to dean
Mon, Oct 31 Summer Faculty Fellowship proposals to Graduate College
SP16 enrollment begins
Curriculum Innovation Fund proposals to FCTL

Ongoing

 
Review dept T/P guidelines based on Faculty Handbook
External consultants visit for fall program reviews
Appointment letters and PAFs for SP17 Intersession

 

November 2016

revised 7/14/2016

Deadlines

Tues, Nov 1
Sabbatical Leave report for SP16/AY15-16 to head, dean, and provost
Honorary Doctorate recipient nominations to Honorary Doctorate Chair
Master Advisor Renewal for receiving $200 to head and dean
White Paper proposals for Washington, DC consultant to dean
Mon, Nov 7
T/P letters from heads to faculty members
Program-Specific Fee proposals to dean
Wed, Nov 9
T/P dossiers from heads to dean
Fri, Nov 11 Heads remind faculty about SU17/FA17 intersession proposals due in January
Mon, Nov 14

Staff Excellence in University Service award - online form
Fee Resolution Change proposals to dean
Program-Specific Fee proposals from dean to provost
Fri, Nov 18
Non-reappointment recommendations for second year faculty from dean to provost
  Study Away Short-Term proposals for FA17 intersession to Study Away
Fri, Nov 25 Sabbatical applications for leaves in 2017-2018 from faculty to heads
Wed, Nov 30 Check budget summary from Dawn

Ongoing

  Work with dean to prepare Holiday Wish List
Identify preliminary FY18 SCUF needs
SU/FA17 class schedule building begins
Departments continue review of T/P guidelines
Receive external consultants reports
Appointment letters and PAFs for SP17
Send out Holiday Wish List thank you letters

 

December 2016

revised 7/14/2016

Deadlines

Thurs, Dec 1
Sabbatical applications for leaves in 2017-2018 from heads to dean
Fee Resolution Change proposals from dean to provost
Provost notifies second year faculty of non-reappointment
Fri, Dec 2
Excellence in Study Away programming nominations to Study Away
Mon, Dec 5
Outstanding Academic Advising nominations to Academic Advisement Center
Wed, Dec 7
T/P letters from dean to faculty members
Mon, Dec 12 T/P dossiers and recommendations from dean to provost
Thurs, Dec 15 Course funding projections for SP17 to dean
Fri, Dec 16
Professor Salary Incentive Program (PSIP) applications to dean
FA16 Commencement
Revised, adopted drafts of T/P guidelines to dean
Faculty Foundation Awards (Teaching, Research and Service) to provost
Fri, Dec 30 COAL Summer Faculty Research reports due

Ongoing

  Begin ADP annual staff evaluations
Check with faculty on program assessment progress
Request faculty to update Digital Measures

 

January 2016

revised 1/3/2016

Deadlines

Tues, Jan 5 US Professor of the Year candidate submission packets to FCTL (thru March 17)
Fri, Jan 8
SU16/FA16 Intersession proposals to heads
Mon, Jan 11
SU16/FA16 Intersession proposals to dean
SP16 semester starts
Wed, Jan 13 Faculty and Staff BOG Excellence in Public Affairs call for nominations to Public Affairs
Fri, Jan 15 Check budget summary from Darin
Tues, Jan 19 Gainful Employment updates to Michelle Olsen
Mon, Jan 25
MSU Foundation Award applications to heads
Heads respond to dean's request for revisions to T/P guidelines
Faculty Excellence in Community Service call for nominations to Public Affairs
Fri, Jan 29
SP16 Faculty Research Grant applications to dean
ADP annual staff evaluations to dean and HR

Ongoing

   COAL Out-of-State Fee Waivers to dean
Request faculty to update Digital Measures

February 2016

revised 1/3/2016

Deadlines

Mon, Feb 1
SU16/FA16 schedule goes online
2017-18 Public Affairs Fellow call for nominations to Public Affairs
MSU Foundation Award applications to dean
BOG Public Affairs Award nominations to dean
Fri, Feb 5
SCUF FY17 proposals from dean to SCUF Committee
Study Away Short-Term proposals for FA16 Intersession due to Study Away
SP16 Faculty Research Grant applications to Graduate College
Mon, Feb 8
Annual Evaluations from faculty to heads
MSU Foundation Award applications from dean to provost
Thurs, Feb 11 Census Date - PAFs for online classes prepared and sent to dean
Fri, Feb 12
Final SCUF FY17 proposals from dean to Provost
Excellence in Advising Support Award nominations to Academic Advisement
Graduate Student Contribution Award nominations to Academic Advisement
Non-reappointment of first year faculty from dean to provost
Mon, Feb 15 Student Employee of the Year award nominations to Student Employment
Check budget summary from Darin
Women of Distinction nominations to Shannon Wooden, ENG
Fri, Feb 19
Faculty Excellence in Community Service nominations to Public Affairs
Budget templates sent to administrators
Fri, Feb 26 T/P departmental guideline revisions to provost

Ongoing

   

March 2016

revised 2/18/2016

Deadlines

Tues, Mar 1 GEP 101 instructor applications to 1st Year Programs
Alumni Award nominations to Alumni Relations
Provost notifies first year faculty of non-reappointment
FA15 Sabbatical Leave report to head, dean, provost
Mon, Mar 7
BOG Faculty Excellence in Public Affairs applications to dean
BOG Staff Excellence in Public Affairs applications to Rachelle Darabi
Fri, Mar 11 T/P decisions from provost to faculty
Equity requests from faculty to heads
Annual evaluations from personnel committees to heads
Wed, Mar 16 2017-18 Public Affairs Fellow nominations to Rachelle Darabi
FA16 Showcase on Teaching proposals to FCTL
Tues, Mar 17 US Professor of the Year candidate submission packets to FCTL
PAFs for T/P prepared and sent to dean
Fri, Mar 18
Faculty Excellence in Community Service applications to Public Affairs
BOG Excellence in Public Affairs nominations to Rachelle Darabi
FA15 Public Affairs Grant Program applications to Public Affairs
Mon, Mar 28 Faculty and staff equity requests, with heads' rationales, to dean
Thurs, Mar 31 Summer/Fall enrollment begins
PAFs for T/P from dean to provost

Ongoing

   Start annual evaluations for faculty
Faculty start discussions with heads about external reviewers for 2016/17 T/P
Appointment letters and PAFs for Summer/Fall Intersessions
Select faculty to serve on department and college committees and report to dean

April 2016

revised 2/18/2016

Deadlines

Fri, Apr 1

Preliminary deadline for department annual reports
New Faculty Summer Research Award applications to dean
PSIP evaluations from dean to provost
Faculty annual evaluations to dean
Fri, Apr 8

Study Away exploratory travel funds applications to Study Away
Non-reappointment of 3+ year faculty from dean to provost
PAFs for instructor reappointment to dean
Fri, Apr 15 Equity requests from dean to provost
PAFs for instructor reappointment from dean to provost
Budget templates sent to Financial Services
Fri, Apr 22
Provost notifies 3+ year faculty of contract non-reappointment
Fri, Apr 29
Study Away Short-Term Winter intersession proposals to Study Away
T/P letters of annual progress from dean to faculty
2017-18 Public Affairs Fellow selected

Ongoing

  Annual faculty/staff computer upgrade proposals
Current FY COAL SCUF requisitions

May 2016

revised 2/18/2016

Deadlines

Fri, May 2 Final deadline for department annual reports
Heads remind faculty to turn in Remunerated Outside Activity Report forms
Non-reappointment decisions for instructors, clinical and research faculty from dean to provost
Fri, May 6
Remunerated Outside Activity Reporting forms from faculty to heads
Fri, May 13 Good Faith Diversity Planners to Wes Pratt
List of faculty intending to apply for T/P from heads to dean
Spring 2016 Commencement

Ongoing

  Appointment letters and PAFs for SU16/FA16

June 2016

revised 2/18/2016

Deadlines

Fri, Jun 3
Remunerated Outside Activity report to dean
Mon, Jun 6
SU16 semester begins
Wed, Jun 15 Department Phonathon report to dean
Thurs, Jun 16 Census Date - PAFs for online classes prepared and sent to dean
Fri, Jun 17
Remunerated Outside Activity report to provost
Thurs, Jun 30 COAL Phonathon report to Foundation Office
COAL annual report from dean to provost

Ongoing

   SP17 class schedule building begins